Here Comes the Best Part…(part 2 of 2)

Standard

I didn’t previously plan to move so far away. It was a God thing to happen so fast.

I applied for the Paramedic program at the community college here back in April and had to wait until mid-June to hear back on whether or not I got accepted. I did (right away), and I was psyched! Yes! Finally I had a major and an actual plan. I enrolled in classes, paid for tuition and announced my plans.

Two weeks later, I was stung on my hand by a wasp. It was swollen for a day or so then was normal. Eight days later, I had a delayed reaction, and my hand got really swollen, itchy, red, small hives. So I had to take Benadryl for that. Fast forward to the middle of July, tubing on the river (in Canada) for 8+ hours. I was covered in bug bites and swollen from head to foot (the worst of anyone in the group). So I was on Benadryl again for the entire rest of the weekend at PBI, completely out of it. I stayed in bed and only left my room for meals and for the closing service on Sunday morning.
One week after we got home from vacation, I had an allergic reaction to (I think) raspberries. Within hours of eating them I was covered in red, itchy hives. Thankfully, it wasn’t an anaphylactic reaction, so it wasn’t like we had to call an ambulance or anything. Haha if it was, I wouldn’t have been able to do anything for myself without an Epipen. I ended up going to the health clinic and getting a prescription for steroids, which quickly took care of the problem. I still have to wait a couple more weeks before I’m going to eat a raspberry to see if it does anything (or if it was something else I ate).

That was all two weeks ago now. Last week, I told my parents and some friends that I applied to PBI.

It wasn’t so much of a snap decision, just a God decision.

While in Canada, we were actually near Three Hills (where PBI is), and we ate lunch at McDonald’s. I was at a table with my siblings and my parents were at the table next to us. We were just sitting there eating lunch, and then a man comes over to our table, comes over to me specifically, and gives ME a tract. As if I was some kind of sinner (which I am, but I’m also forgiven through the blood of Jesus). I thanked him, but inside I was rather upset. Why, out of all these people, did he pick me? Could he sense that I had a bad attitude (I admit I kind of did that day)? I don’t know why, but it made me stop to think.

Maybe God was trying to get my attention?

Somewhere between those times of being incoherent and out of it due to the drugs, He got my attention.

I choose to apply for the one-year Bible certificate. Prairie sent out a brochure for the program, challenging students to give God one year to see what He could do. So that’s what I’m doing.

I will be gone probably until next May or early June, but it depends on what happens during this year. I may decide to switch over into the Aviation program, who knows? During this year, my hope is to grow closer to God and also (of course) grow in my knowledge and understanding of His word, the Bible.

I have been asked, and I am sure I will be asked this many times, if I decided to transfer to PBI because I met ‘someone’ special. Meaning, am I going there because I met some guy?

The answer is no. I really was out of it that entire weekend, or I could have applied while I was there. I hardly talked to anyone. Although I must say that out of the few older ladies that I did talk to, they all said “Come to Prairie, you’ll be sure to find a husband here.”

I wanted (and still have that hope) to only date the person I would end up marrying. For now, that area of my life is on hold; I am waiting and trusting God that He knows what He’s doing. That’s not easy to write. Honestly, it really hurts, but that’s where I’m at.

In closing, while sitting in church a couple Sundays ago, the sermon was about helping the needy, and somehow I found myself in the book of Isaiah, chapter 55. Verses 12-13 (almost) literally jumped out off the page at me, like God was pointing them out for ME.

“You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and the hills will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands. Instead of the thornbush will grow the pine tree, and instead of briers the myrtle will grow. This will be for the Lord’s renown, for an everlasting sign, which will not be destroyed.”

Whatever it is that He has in store is going to be amazing.
Trust God!

Leave a Reply

