I’ve been Shaken

Standard

Open my eyes and help me see
There’s a world outside of me
I’m no different, I want to make a difference tonight

The words don’t always come out right
And I don’t normally cry
But you didn’t see the look in her eyes

I’ve been shaken from my head on down to my toes
Lord, use me, take me where You want me to go
I can’t help it, my heart has been replaced with a face
I’m ready, these hands are dedicated to change

~ Hawk Nelson, Shaken (2009)

Listened to this song yesterday and it got me thinking back to my Manila trip last year. There was a great photo of me (taken by another volunteer) of me holding a sweet child on one of the feedings we went to. She was clinging to me when I was walking around carrying her, yet I don’t even know her name or age (she wouldn’t tell me it and neither would any of the other kids there). But she wasn’t the one who stole my heart.

There’s a child named Anarea (ah-nah-REH-ah), whose story and photo I can’t post online, but who captured my heart while I was staying at the KIM base. All she ever wanted was to be pushed on the swing set or sit next to me and watch videos of herself and the other kids on my camera. She would yell “Tita!” (aunt) to me across the yard until I came over to her. My favorite video of her got lost somehow when I was transferring photos to a drive to bring back.

Maybe I’ll never see her again, but this is the child I think of and pray for often, who shook my world and planted a seed of love in me for the children in the world who are often looked over or abandoned, or who may have stories similar to hers. She is a child of God and I will always love her.

IMG_9919.JPG

Leave a Reply

